IITB Central Library 2.0 Service

BEST employee’s paper bus models wow IITB

Posted on: November 16, 2010

by DNA
Brihanmumbai Electric Supply and Transport (BEST) employee Yatin Pimpale, 42, has captured the city’s transport history on paper.

From the first-ever horse-driven trams to BEST buses, double deckers, the latest Kinglongs and even the monorail — he’s made them all in paper scale models with the finest details that look too real.

He was recently invited by the Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay (IIT-B),to give a guest lecture on this unique hobby of his.

“It’s my passion and I have been doing it for many years. I have made models of almost all the buses in the BEST fleet with precise details. To encourage this hobby among my peers and children, I intend to hold an exhibition of all my works in January,” he said.

“Since I work with the BEST and know many details about the fleet, I have tried to capture them all in my models. I spent several hours to study the intricacies of the fleet and incorporated them in my models. You can see details like the conductor’s bell and the mirror, too, in my models,” he added.

“I use three software to prepare one model. It takes me about 40 hours to prepare one model and costs about Rs100 for scanning and printing. I start by getting the appropriate measurements and specifications of the vehicle and then begin on the project.”

A number of his exhibits are placed at BEST’s official museum at Anik bus depot.

“I was invited to IIT to promote this eco-friendly hobby, which can tell you the story of the city’s transport history. The students there were quite enthusiastic about this. I now intend to make the MRVC new-age local train of all 12-coaches and am in the process of collecting the basic measurement data for it,” Pimpale said.

He rued the fact that the hobby does not evoke much interest among many adults, but children and transport buffs are excited about it. “These things have more value abroad, but I vow to make it more popular here,” he added.

Leave a Reply

Follow on Tweeter

Photos Gallery

Social Book Marking

Google Scholar Search

Visitors to this site

Visitors hit counter

blog counter

